

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING MINUTES MAY 23, 2023 447 EAST BROAD STREET, COLUMBUS

I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Scott Doran called the meeting to order at 5:30 p.m. The following trustees were present for quorum: Trudy Bartley, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Bipender Jindal, Mitzi Kirkbride, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Ann Seren, Terree Stevenson, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny and Randi Smith were absent, as was County Administrator Ken Wilson.

II. ANNOUNCEMENTS

Erika Clark Jones yielded time for board member Ann Seren to speak to the trustees about the annual NAMI Walk.

III. COMMUNITY PARTICIPATION

There was no community participation this month.

IV. PRESENTATIONS

A. ADAMH Policy Agenda Update – Monica Cerrezuela, Director of Policy and Legislative Affairs

Monica Cerrezuela gave an update on the 2023-2054 policy agenda. Cerrezuela went over the state budget request and spoke about Senate Bill 83.

B. ADAMH Behavioral Health Workforce Council Update – Dr. Ameena Kemavor, Vice President of Advocacy and Engagement

Dr. Kemavor provided an update on the progress made by the ADAMH behavioral health workforce council.

V. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the following meeting minutes:

Audit Committee	April 3, 2023
Nominating Committee	April 10, 2023
Community Advocacy Council	April 10, 2023
By-laws Committee	April 11, 2023
Board Meeting	April 25, 2023

Terree Stevenson moved to approve the meeting minutes; Nathan Wymer seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following board members voted to approve the minutes: Trudy Bartley, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Bipender Jindal, Mitzi Kirkbride, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Ann Seren, Terree Stevenson, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny and Randi Smith were absent.

ADAMH Board of Trustees Meeting May 23, 2023 Page **1** of **3**

VI. APPROVAL OF FINANCIAL REPORT

A. Financial Statements – Allison Watters, Senior Director of Finance

Allison Watters presented the financial statements for April 2023.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the financial report: Ann Seren moved to approve the report; Mitzi Kirkbride seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following board members voted to approve the report: Trudy Bartley, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Bipender Jindal, Mitzi Kirkbride, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Ann Seren, Terree Stevenson, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny and Randi Smith were absent.

VII. CONSENT AGENDA

None of the actions this month meets the standards of the consent agenda.

VIII. ACTION AGENDA

A. Action 23-05-01: ADAMH Funding Requests (Round 1) – Sue Villilo, Vice President/Assistant System Chief Clinical Officer

Sue Villilo recommended that the board of trustees approve the distribution of \$816,784 from funding requests that were received in April 2023 for services that emphasize unmet community needs.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the action: Daniel Eakins moved to approve the action; Terree Stevenson seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following board members voted to approve the action: Trudy Bartley, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Bipender Jindal, Mitzi Kirkbride, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Ann Seren, Terree Stevenson, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny and Randi Smith were absent.

B. Action 23-05-02: ADAMH Funding for Franklin County Crisis Care Center Capital Campaign Counsel – Jonathan Thomas, Chief Operating Officer

Jonathan Thomas recommended that the board of trustees approve up to \$73,440 to Mollard Consulting to finalize their campaign counsel to secure the final \$2.8 million in private investment to support the development of the Franklin County Crisis Care Center.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the action: Bipender Jindal moved to approve the action; John Neil Lindsey seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following board members voted to approve the action: Trudy Bartley, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Bipender Jindal, Mitzi Kirkbride, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Ann Seren, Terree Stevenson, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny and Randi Smith were absent.

IX. NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business.

X. COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. Audit Committee – Daniel Eakins, Chair

The committee chair had no updates to share.

ADAMH Board of Trustees Meeting May 23, 2023 Page **2** of **3**

B. By-laws Committee Meeting – Nathan Wymer, Chair

Nathan Wymer shared that the committee met on May 8 and expects to present the updated bylaws to the full board for review and approval in August.

C. Finance Committee – Donna Zuiderweg, Chair

The committee chair had no updates to share.

D. Nominating Committee – John Neil Lindsey, Chair

The committee chair had no updates to share.

E. Planning Committee – Stephen Lawrence, Chair

Stephen Lawrence shared that the committee met on May 15, 2023.

F. Franklin County Crisis Center – Trudy Bartley, Board Liaison

Trudy Bartley shared that there were no updates.

XI. PRIORITY PROJECT REPORTS

Jonathan Thomas gave an update on the crisis care center.

XII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

There was no executive session this month.

XII. ADJOURNMENT

Scott Doran asked for a motion to adjourn. Terree Stevenson moved to approve the motion to adjourn; Toni Johnson Liggins seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following board members voted to adjourn: Trudy Bartley, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Bipender Jindal, Mitzi Kirkbride, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Ann Seren, Terree Stevenson, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Holly Dabelko-Schoeny and Randi Smith were absent.

Meeting was adjourned at 6:40 p.m.

Recorder: Marion N. Sullivan

Scott Doran

ADAMH Board of Trustees Meeting May 23, 2023 Page **3** of **3**

The second second