

BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING 447 EAST BROAD STREET, COLUMBUS APRIL 23, 2024

MINUTES

I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Scott Doran called the meeting to order at 5:33 p.m. The following trustees were present for quorum: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer. Randi Smith and Donna Zuiderweg were absent. County Administrator Ken Wilson was also in attendance.

II. ANNOUNCEMENTS

A. Board Chair Announcements: Scott reminded board members to complete the CEO evaluation form by May 1. He thanked everyone involved in the tour of the crisis care center, and he encouraged the board to review the housing plan included in the packet.

B. CEO Announcements: Erika Clark Jones discussed the crisis care center tour, staff anniversaries, and the trustee survey.

III. COMMUNITY PARTICIPATION

There were no requests for community participation this month.

IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the following meeting minutes:

Finance Committee	February 12, 2024
Coordinating Committee	February 12, 2024
Community Advocacy Council	February 12, 2024
Board Meeting	February 27, 2024
Audit Committee	March 11, 2024
Community Advocacy Council	March 11, 2024

John Neil Lindsey moved to approve; John Toni Johnson Liggins seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the minutes: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer.

> ADAMH Board Meeting April 23, 2024

V. FINANCIAL REPORT

A. Financial Statements – Anthony Perry, CFO

Anthony Perry presented the financial statements for March 2024.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the financial report: Mitzi Kirkbride moved to approve; John Neil Lindsey seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the report: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer.

VI. PRESENTATIONS

A. ADAMH 2023 Housing Plan Generates 2024 Priority Projects – Sue Villilo, Vice President/Assistant System Chief Clinical Officer

Sue Villilo discussed the ADAMH housing plan and two priority projects for 2024.

B. CHN and ADAMH Housing Partnership – Samantha Shuler, CEO, Community Housing Network

Samantha Shuler presented an overview of Community Housing Network, its connection to ADAMH, and the types of permanent supportive housing in the community.

VII. ACTION AGENDA

A. Action 24-04-02: OhioMHAS Funding for the Recovery Housing Program (\$200,000) – Meg Griffing, Senior Director of Provider Relations

Meg Griffing recommended that the board of trustees approve pass-through funding from OhioMHAS in the amount of \$200,000 for rental assistance to four recovery housing providers serving individuals with substance use disorders.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the action: Toni Johnson Liggins moved to approve the action; Robert V. Morris II seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the action: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer.

B. Action 24-04-01: ADAMH Funding for Restroom Upgrades and Utility Repairs at 447 East Broad Street (\$49,500) – Joe Florenski, Senior Director of Administration

Joe Florenski recommended that the board of trustees allocate \$49,500 to Schooley Caldwell Associates to provide restroom upgrades and utility repairs at 447 East Broad.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the action: Stephen Lawrence moved to approve the action; John Neil Lindsey seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the action: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer.

> ADAMH Board Meeting April 23, 2024

VIII. NEW BUSINESS

A. Franklin County Crisis Care Center Contingency Fund Update – Jonathan Thomas, COO

Jonathan Thomas provided an update on adjustments to the contingency fund for the crisis care center.

IX. COMMITTEE REPORTS

A. Audit Committee – Daniel Eakins, Chair: The audit committee met on March 11. Topics discussed included the County audit for 2022 and a progress update in the special audit recommendations. The next meeting is set for June.

B. Finance Committee – John Neil Lindsey, Chair: The finance committee meets next on May 6.

C. Nominating Committee – John Neil Lindsey, Chair: The nominating committee met on April 1 to discuss new appointments and set a slate for officer elections for the 2024-25 state fiscal year. The vote will be held at the May board meeting.

D. Planning Committee – Stephen Lawrence, Chair: The April meeting of the planning committee was cancelled but has been rescheduled for June 10.

E. Franklin County Crisis Care Center – Trudy Bartley, Board Liaison: Trudy thanked everyone involved in the crisis center construction for their hard work.

X. PRIORITY PROJECT REPORTS

Erika Clark Jones called attention to the report from the Ohio Association of County Behavioral Health Authorities on our culture of quality certification, the priority report on the community needs assessment that will be in the packet for the duration of the project, and the final report for the crisis care center campaign fund. We will continue to include the report on the fund at The Columbus Foundation.

XI. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Scott Doran asked for a motion to move into executive session for the purpose of discussion of the compensation of a public employee, official, licensee or regulated individual. Daniel Eakins moved to approve the motion; John Neil Lindsey seconded; motion carried. A roll call was taken, and the following board members approved the move into executive session: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer. Mitzi Kirkbride left the meeting prior to the executive session.

Trustees entered the executive session at 7:00 p.m. and returned to the open meeting at 7:22 p.m.

XII. NEW BUSINESS CONTINUED

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the execution of the CEO contract: Nathan Wymer moved to approve the motion; Toni Johnson Liggins seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the execution of the contract; Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer.

XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Scott Doran asked for a motion to adjourn: Stephen Lawrence moved to approve the motion to adjourn; Melissa Klosterman-Lando seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to adjourn: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Niki Hampton, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Stephen Lawrence, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, and Nathan Wymer.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:23 p.m.

Recorder: Diane Peterson

Scott Doran, Chair Dabelko-Schoeny, Secretary