

# BOARD OF TRUSTEES MEETING 447 EAST BROAD STREET, COLUMBUS MAY 21, 2024

### MINUTES

### I. CALL TO ORDER/ROLL CALL

Scott Doran called the meeting to order at 5:34 p.m. The following trustees were present for quorum: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Niki Hampton, Stephen Lawrence, and Randi Smith were absent.

#### II. ANNOUNCEMENTS

**A. Board Chair Announcements:** Scott Doran welcomed new board member Dean Hindenlang and announced that two new board members will be joining this summer.

**B. CEO Announcements:** Erika Clark Jones provided an update about ADAMH staff transitions. She asked Dr. Ameena Kemavor, Vice President of Advocacy and Engagement, to provide an update on ADAMH outreach efforts to the building trades.

#### III. COMMUNITY PARTICIPATION

There were no requests for community participation this month.

# IV. APPROVAL OF MINUTES

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the following meeting minutes:

Nominating Committee	April 1, 2024
Coordinating Committee	April 9, 2024
Board Meeting	April 23, 2024

Melissa Klosterman-Lando moved to approve the motion; Trudy Bartley seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the minutes: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Dean Hindenlang abstained.

# V. FINANCIAL REPORT

#### A. Financial Statements – Anthony Perry, CFO

Anthony Perry presented the financial statements for April 2024.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the financial report. Daniel Eakins moved to approve the motion; Bob Morris seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the report: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg.

### VI. PRESENTATIONS

#### A. Clients Rights Year-End Report for 2023 – Henry Bryant, Client Rights Officer

Henry Bryant presented a year-end report for 2023.

#### B. ADAMH NaloxBox Program – McKayla Elliott, SOR Program Manager

McKayla Elliott provided an update on the NaloxBox program.

# VII. CONSENT AGENDA

None of the actions presented at this meeting met the threshold for the consent agenda.

#### VIII. ACTION AGENDA

#### A. Action 24-05-01: ADAMH Capital and Program Funding Requests (Round 1) (2024) -Sue Villilo, Vice President/Assistant System Chief Clinical Officer

Sue Villilo recommended that the board of trustees approve the distribution of \$782,970 for funding requests received in April 2024.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the action. Nathan Wymer moved to approve the motion; John Neil Lindsey seconded; motion carried. A volce vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the action: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg.

# B. Action 24-05-02: ADAMH Funding for Workforce Development Consultation (Forrest Street Consulting) (\$48,500) – Dr. Ameena Kemavor, Vice-President of Advocacy and Engagement

Dr. Ameena Kemavor recommended that the board of trustees approve the execution of a contract not to exceed \$48,500 with Forrest Street Consulting to facilitate meetings of and support the ADAMH workforce development council and priority workgroups through the end of 2024.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the action. Mitzi Kirkbride moved to approve the motion; Melissa Klosterman-Lando seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to approve the action: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg.

#### IX. NEW BUSINESS

# A. July 2024-June 2025 Officer Slate for ADAMH Board of Trustees – Scott Doran, Board Chair; and John Neil Lindsey, Nominating Committee Chair

The following officers for state fiscal year 2025 have been recommended: Donna Zuiderweg, chair; Daniel Eakins, vice chair; Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, secretary; and John Neil Lindsey, treasurer.

Scott Doran asked for a motion to approve the officer slate. Trudy Bartley moved to approve the motion; Toni Johnson Liggins seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees approved the officer slate as presented: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Mitzi Kirkbride, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, Toni Johnson Liggins, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg.

# X. COMMITTEE REPORTS

**A. Audit Committee – Daniel Eakins, Chair:** The next meeting will be in June. Topics to be discussed include the status of the County audit, an update on special audit recommendations, and a new provider risk assessment tool.

**B. Finance Committee – Donna Zuiderweg, Chair:** The committee met on May 6. Topics included the quarterly financial statements and levy model update as well as the improvement plan required for the culture of quality certification.

**C. Nominating Committee – John Neil Lindsey, Chair:** Dean Hindenlang has been added to the committee roster.

**D. Planning Committee – Scott Doran, Board Chair:** The next meeting will be on June 10, 2024.

**E. Franklin County Crisis Care Center – Trudy Bartley, Board Liaison:** There was no report this month.

# XI. PRIORITY PROJECT REPORTS

The packet now includes a list of recent or upcoming tours of the crisis care center.

# XII. EXECUTIVE SESSION

Scott Doran asked for a motion to move into executive session for the purpose of discussion of the compensation of a public employee, official, licensee or regulated individual. Daniel Eakins moved to approve the motion; Donna Zuiderweg seconded; motion carried. A roll call was taken, and the following board members approved the move into executive session: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Mitzi Kirkbride, Toni Johnson Liggins, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg. Mitzi Kirkbride was present for roll call but exited the meeting prior to going into executive session.

Trustees entered executive session at 6:53 p.m. and returned to the open meeting at 7:27 p.m.

# XIII. ADJOURNMENT

Scott Doran asked for a motion to adjourn: Dean Hindenlang moved to approve the motion; Toni Johnson Liggins seconded; motion carried. A voice vote was taken, and the following trustees voted to adjourn: Trudy Bartley, Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Scott Doran, Daniel Eakins, Dean Hindenlang, Toni Johnson Liggins, Melissa Klosterman-Lando, John Neil Lindsey, Bob Morris, Nathan Wymer, and Donna Zuiderweg.

Meeting was adjourned at 7:28 p.m.

Recorder: Diane Peterson

Scott Doran, Chair Holly Dabelko-Schoeny, Secretary